What is the minimum age to be a prison officer?
In shortYou must be at least 18 when you start the role; whether you can apply while 17 is not stated.
The HMPPS recruitment page for prison officers says you need to be at least 18 years old when you start your new role. The Ministry of Justice advert for the October 2026 HMP Birmingham vacancy repeats the requirement in slightly different words: you must be at least 18 at the point you commence employment.
The wording matters. It ties the age to the start date, not to the day you click submit. We have not found an official statement on whether you can apply while 17 and turn 18 before your start date.
Because the whole process averages 6 to 7 months from application to first day, it is a realistic question, but the answer is not published, so do not assume either way. Ask the recruitment team through the contact details on the careers site before you invest time in tests.
If you are under 18
- There is no separate 'junior' or cadet prison officer grade in the sources we read.
- Build the personal qualities the role wants and get a first job that involves dealing with the public.
- Apply close to your 18th birthday once you have checked the timing with HMPPS.
Is there an upper age limit for prison officers?
In shortNo upper age limit is published, which is accurate; the real filter at any age is the medical and fitness assessment.
No upper age limit appears on any official HMPPS page we read for this guide: the how-to-apply page, the October 2026 advert, the eligibility pages and the skills page. That is a statement about what is published, and it is worth wording carefully.
'No upper age limit is published' is accurate. 'There is no age limit' sounds like a legal guarantee, which we cannot give.
The medical and fitness filter
What the pages do say is that you must pass a medical and fitness assessment whatever your age. That is the real filter. Someone aged 19 who cannot meet the standards will not pass, and someone aged 52 who can meet them is assessed on the same basis.
- An eye test, a hearing test, a blood pressure check and basic health screening by an occupational health professional.
- A bleep test.
- An upper-body strength test using a 7 kg riot shield and grip equipment.
The law, as background
As background rather than HMPPS guidance, UK law treats age as a protected characteristic under the Equality Act 2010, which is one reason employers do not usually set arbitrary maximum ages.
Occupational requirements can be justified where they are a proportionate way of achieving a legitimate aim, but HMPPS has not published an age-based one for prison officers.
How the age question works at different life stages
In shortAge is a poor predictor because the process tests behaviours, a medical standard and a fitness test; these are practical observations, not statistics.
Age is a poor predictor of how a candidate will do, because the process is built around behaviours, a medical standard and a fitness test rather than a birth year. It still shapes what you should prepare for, so it helps to look at a few common situations.
If you are 18 to 21
You can start at 18, and nothing we have read bars under-21s. One detail from the vetting policy: security clearances such as the Counter-Terrorism Check last 7 years rather than 10 when issued to someone under 21 (PSI 07/2014 Annex A).
Your application will lean on examples from school, college, part-time work, sport, volunteering or caring responsibilities, which the behaviours-based assessments can accommodate. The careers site says personal qualities matter more than qualifications and that no specific experience is needed.
If you are in your 30s or 40s
This group includes many career changers from retail, hospitality, security, care, the armed forces and the emergency services. Your main task is translating previous work into the behaviours HMPPS assesses.
Check the notice period in your current contract before you accept an offer, because the timeline from application to first day is measured in months.
If you are 50 or over
Nothing published bars you. The thing to take seriously is the physical standard, because shift work includes early starts and nights, and the fitness test is a genuine physical hurdle at any age.
Start fitness preparation early, ask your GP about anything you are unsure of before the occupational health screening, and read our guide on becoming a prison officer over 50 for the detail.
The medical and fitness assessment is the real age-neutral test
In shortThe same medical and fitness assessment applies to everyone; official pages name the components but not the pass levels, so figures quoted elsewhere are reported, not confirmed.
After the online stages and pre-employment checks, you attend a medical and fitness assessment at one of the published sites. Travel expenses of up to £100 are reimbursable for UK travel (HMPPS how-to-apply page, 3 October 2026).
The medical is carried out by an occupational health professional and covers eyes, hearing, blood pressure and basic screening.
The official page names the fitness components but not the pass levels. Treat the figures below as reported figures, not confirmed current recruitment standards, and read our guides on the fitness test and the bleep test level for how to prepare.
- Published sites: Swindon, Cambridge, South London (Croydon), Rugby (Newbold Revel), Leeds or Manchester.
- A site Ofsted lists as the HMPPS Learning Centre's website cites HMPPS guidance dated February 2019 (which we could not open) for a 15-metre shuttle run to level 5.4, a grip standard of 25 kg in both hands, a 7 kg shield held for a minute and an agility run within 34 seconds.
- A dated 2018 MoJ/HMPPS summary also names level 5.4 as the standard minimum for serving Band 3 and 4 officers.
- Reported eyesight and hearing standards (6/36 uncorrected and 6/12 corrected with both eyes open; conversation-level hearing at about 3 metres without aids) are likewise from third-party summaries of older guidance. Ask HMPPS for the current standard if you are close to a threshold, and see glasses and eyesight.
| Filter | Does age change it? | What is published |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | Yes | 18 when you start the role (careers site, October 2026 advert) |
| Maximum age | Not applicable | No upper age limit published on any official page read |
| Medical assessment | Same test for all | Eye, hearing, blood pressure and basic health screening; conditions must be declared |
| Fitness test | Same test for all | Bleep test and upper-body strength test; pass levels not on official pages (reported figures only) |
| Vetting | Under-21 detail only | Enhanced Check Level 2; Counter-Terrorism Check for high security; under-21 CTC lasts 7 years |
| Online tests and assessment centre | No | Same scenario-based test, values-based assessment and online assessment centre |
Pass levels for the fitness test, and any eyesight or hearing numbers, are reported by third parties and are not confirmed on current official pages.
Fitness after you are appointed
In shortFor ordinary officers the fitness test is a recruitment hurdle, not a recurring one, though the physical side of the job remains.
Older articles describe an annual fitness test for serving officers, with consequences for repeated failure. The PSPRB 25th Report (2026), which we read in full, says at paragraph 2.51 that the fitness test is not repeated once an officer is appointed, except for certain specialist roles.
Treat the annual-test claim as dated (a 2022 report) and say 'the fitness test is a recruitment hurdle, not a recurring one' for ordinary officers.
Fitness after appointment
What is published
- The fitness test is not repeated once an officer is appointed, except for certain specialist roles.
What does not go away
- Control and restraint techniques are taught during foundation training, and officers may respond to incidents.
- In specialist roles, such as certain incident-response teams, local fitness requirements may apply; see our guides to incident response roles.
Age rules for the other routes into the service
In shortThe 18-year minimum is for the standard external route; other routes publish their own conditions, and some are defined by service history instead of age.
The 18-year minimum applies to the standard external prison officer route. Other routes publish their own conditions.
- Youth justice worker (Youth Custody Service): 18 or over, with Civil Service nationality, medical, fitness, eyesight and hearing standards and a DBS check.
- Future Prison Leaders Programme: 18 or over, with a degree or Level 6 qualification (or near completion) or documented people-management experience.
- Operational Support Grade: the minimum age is not stated on the page we read, so check the vacancy.
- Advance into Justice (service leavers, veterans and some spouses) and the Returners' Scheme (former officers who left within the last five years) are defined by service history rather than by age.
Scotland, Northern Ireland and private prisons
In shortScotland and Northern Ireland run their own recruitment and private prisons set their own rules, so check each employer's own pages.
The Scottish Prison Service has its own recruitment. Its pages describe applicants as needing to be over 18; we could not confirm whether the exact wording is 'over 18' or '18 or over', so use the SPS portal for the definitive statement.
Pay and training length in Scotland are covered separately in prison officer pay in Scotland.
- Scottish Prison Service
- Own recruitment, its own fitness standards, including a 600 m treadmill run in 3 minutes 45 seconds, and its own criminal-record criteria.
- Northern Ireland Prison Service
- Recruits Custody Prison Officers through NICS recruitment. The most recent competition we found closed on 17 July 2026, and we have not verified its age or eligibility conditions, which are in the candidate booklet, so we do not state them here.
- Private prisons
- Staff are employed by the operator, not by HMPPS, so age rules are set by each employer and sit outside everything above.
Age, vetting and the 12-month question
In shortVetting is not age-limited, but a complex history takes longer to evidence; pre-employment checks currently take 8 to 10 weeks.
Vetting is not age-limited, but it can be more time-consuming if your history is complex. Older candidates have longer address and employment histories to evidence, so start collecting documents early. Pre-employment checks currently take 8 to 10 weeks (HMPPS, 3 October 2026).
High security prisons add the Counter-Terrorism Check, which requires that you have lived in the UK for the three years immediately before applying. That matters more for people who have recently returned from abroad than for any particular age group.
Read nationality and residency rules and our overview of vetting before applying to a Category A prison.
- Enhanced Check Level 2 covers
- Identity, address history, nationality and right to work, criminal record (spent and unspent, subject to filtering), employment references, a personal reference and a check against the HMPPS exclusion list.
A short checklist before you apply, whatever your age
In shortTurn the worry 'am I too old or too young' into questions you can check against published requirements and your own situation.
The best way to use the age information is as a checklist. It turns the vague worry 'am I too old or too young' into questions you can check against published requirements and your own situation.
- Confirm you will be 18 on the day you would start, and ask the recruitment team if you are close to the cut-off.
- Check the vacancy closing date: the October 2026 merit vacancies close on 15 October 2026, and you can register interest if none are open.
- Read the medical and fitness description on the HMPPS page, declare any health conditions honestly and ask for reasonable adjustments if you need them (see the application guide).
- Start training for the bleep test and upper-body strength early; the published standards are not on the careers page, so use the fitness test calculator as a self-check.
- Work out your notice period and finances for the 6 to 7 month process using the recruitment timeline tool.
- Prepare behaviour-based examples from your own life; see prison officer interview questions.
Frequently asked questions
How old do you have to be to be a prison officer?
You must be at least 18 years old when you start the role, according to the HMPPS careers site and the October 2026 Ministry of Justice advert. The wording is about the start date rather than the application date.
Whether you can apply a few months before turning 18 is not stated, so ask the recruitment team.
Is there an upper age limit for prison officers?
No upper age limit is published on any official HMPPS page we read. You must still pass the medical assessment, the fitness test and vetting. Because that is a statement about what is published, check the vacancy pack for the campaign you are applying to.
Can you become a prison officer at 50 or 55?
Nothing published bars you, but the physical standards are the same as for younger candidates. Prepare for the bleep test and upper-body strength test, take medical advice on any conditions and think about how a later start affects your pension age and total service.
Can I join at 18 with no experience?
Yes. HMPPS says no specific experience or qualifications are needed and that personal qualities are more important. You will draw on examples from education, part-time work, volunteering or sport in the application stages. Check our guide on joining at 18 for more detail.
Do prison officers have to retire at a certain age?
We have not found a compulsory retirement age for prison officers in the sources read for this guide, and employers generally cannot impose one without justification. Pension age and early retirement rules are separate and are covered in our pension guides, which you should read before planning your career length.
Is the fitness test harder for older applicants?
As far as the published information goes, there are no age-adjusted standards: the same bleep test and upper-body strength test apply. Reasonable adjustments are available for disability or long-term conditions, and HMPPS says you will not be penalised for asking. Pass levels are not on official pages, so rely on current HMPPS information.
Is the age limit the same in Scotland and Northern Ireland?
Not necessarily. The Scottish Prison Service and the Northern Ireland Prison Service run separate recruitment with their own pages and candidate information. SPS describes applicants as over 18; we have not verified the Northern Ireland conditions, so check NICS recruitment for the live competition.
Sources
- prisonandprobationjobs.gov.ukPrison and Probation Jobs — how to apply as a prison officer (HMPPS)
- jobs.justice.gov.ukMinistry of Justice jobs — Prison Officer, HMP Birmingham advert (closing 15 Oct 2026)
- prisonandprobationjobs.gov.ukPrison and Probation Jobs — skills you need to become a prison officer
- prisonandprobationjobs.gov.ukPrison and Probation Jobs — reasonable adjustments in the recruitment process
- assets.publishing.service.gov.ukPSPRB 25th Report 2026 (GOV.UK, PDF)
- assets.publishing.service.gov.ukHMPPS Security Vetting Policy Framework (PSI 07/2014, revised 20 Feb 2025)