The short answer: what a Scottish prison officer earns in 2026

In shortA Residential Officer starts on £37,682 and an Operations Officer on £30,789; neither maps one-for-one onto England and Wales Band 3.

SPS recruits prison officers through two routes, and both are entry-level. SPS describes the two as parallel paths that are "very different in nature" and equally important. Both involve rostered shifts including day, back and night shifts, and no prior prison experience is required, though a fitness test is part of pre-employment checks.

The two SPS entry routes

Residential Officer

  • Starts on £37,682, progressing to £44,248 within three years, for those joining from 1 April 2026, subject to pay progression.
  • Works mainly in the accommodation areas, building relationships, managing casework and supporting people to desist from reoffending.

Operations Officer

  • Starts on £30,789, progressing to £34,878 within three years from the same date.
  • Provides security support, with the adverts listing front of house, visits, the electronic control room, patrol and prisoner reception.
SPS Residential and Operations Officer vs England and Wales Band 3 (2026/27, annual, National zone for E&W)
RoleStartTop of scaleHours basis
SPS Residential Officer (from 1 April 2026)£37,682£44,248 within 3 years35h per SPS adverts
SPS Operations Officer (from 1 April 2026)£30,789£34,878 within 3 years35h per SPS adverts
E&W Band 3, 37h incl. 20% UWH£34,928£36,77837h
E&W Band 3, 39h incl. 2 x ACHP and 20% UWH£36,816£38,76639h
E&W Band 3, 41h incl. 4 x ACH and 20% UWH£39,334£41,41741h
E&W Band 5 custodial manager, 37h incl. 20% UWH£44,900£47,05737h

SPS: Residential Officer and Operations Officer careers pages, opened 3 October 2026; hours from SPS adverts on myjobscotland.gov.uk (Residential, HMP Edinburgh, closing 30 January 2026; Operations, HMP Inverness, closing 17 August 2026). E&W: PSPRB 25th Report Appendix E, effective 1 April 2026. 'Within 3 years' is as stated by SPS and is subject to pay progression.

Which is the equivalent of Band 3?

Neither title maps one-for-one, and we found no official SPS statement of equivalence. The Prison Service Pay Review Body benchmarks Band 3 against the Residential Officer scale, and a Band 3 officer's wing-based, case-working duties are closest to the Residential role.

So the Residential figures are the fairer pay comparison; the Operations Officer figures are the right ones if you are applying for that route. Always check which route a vacancy is for before comparing salaries.

Against England and Wales Band 3

The SPS Residential Officer starting salary is £2,754 above a 37-hour pay point 1 (£34,928), £866 above a 39-hour pay point 1 (£36,816) and £1,652 below a 41-hour pay point 1 (£39,334). At the top, £44,248 is £7,470 above the 37-hour Band 3 maximum and £2,831 above the 41-hour maximum.

The SPS scale is much steeper at the start: it climbs by £6,566 in three years, while the England and Wales Band 3 scale climbs by £1,850 on 37 hours.

The Operations Officer start of £30,789 is £4,139 below a 37-hour England and Wales pay point 1, and its three-year figure of £34,878 is £1,900 below the 37-hour Band 3 maximum, so on headline numbers it is the lower-paid entry route.

How SPS pay is set: outside the PSPRB

In shortThe PSPRB does not set SPS pay, which is negotiated in Scotland.

  • Scottish scale spread (Band D)£6,061Maximum minus minimum, 2024-25
  • E&W Band 3 spread£1,781Same comparison
  • SPS deal, 2025-264.25%Inflation guarantee: 1 percentage point above average CPI
  • SPS deal, 2026-273.75%As reported by SPICe

The Prison Service Pay Review Body covers England and Wales (and reports on Northern Ireland to its justice minister). SPS pay is negotiated in Scotland as part of the Scottish Government's public-sector pay arrangements.

Because SPS pay is on a different calendar and mechanism, awards in Scotland and England do not move together. For the England and Wales process see PSPRB explained.

  • The PSPRB does use SPS pay in its comparisons: in its 2026 report it observed that the Scottish Residential Officer scale (Band D) had a wider spread than the England and Wales Band 3 scale, and that Band 3 pay was entirely below it.
  • The Scottish Parliament's research service (SPICe) reported the two-year deal in December 2025. That is a secondary source; we did not read the primary SPS or Scottish pay negotiating circulars, so treat the percentages as reported rather than confirmed.
  • A practical effect of the SPS system is the three-year progression to a higher maximum. In England and Wales the structure is a short three-point Band 3, with progression to higher pay coming through promotion or longer contracted hours.

Unsocial hours, shifts and allowances in Scotland

In shortWe found no published SPS rule mirroring the flat 20% unsocial hours allowance, so we do not say what is inside the salary.

SPS describes the work as shifts that may include day shift, night shift and back shift depending on the establishment, on a roster. The careers page does not say whether the quoted salary includes any enhancement, so we do not state it either way.

This matters for comparisons. In England and Wales, the £34,928 figure is made up of £29,107 base pay plus 20% for unsocial hours.

If the SPS salary of £37,682 is a plain salary, then it exceeds the England and Wales base rate (£29,107) by £8,575; if it is an all-in figure, the comparison with £34,928 is closer. We cannot tell which, and you should ask SPS recruitment for the breakdown.

  • We have no verified information on SPS overtime rates, specialist allowances or location payments, and we do not infer them from England and Wales rules (where Bands 3 to 5 have only Payment Plus at £23 an hour).
  • Get the rates in writing when you receive a conditional offer.
  • For the England and Wales extras see Payment Plus explained and unsocial hours allowance explained.

Annual leave, family leave and benefits at SPS

In shortSPS states annual leave rising to 42 days after five years, 27 weeks' full basic maternity pay and two weeks' paid paternity leave.

The SPS rewards page says annual leave rises to 42 days a year after five years' service. It does not say whether public holidays are included, so we cannot compare it directly with HMPPS's 25 days rising to 30 with long service, which also leaves public holiday treatment unclear.

Ask each employer for the entitlement in hours and for how public holidays are counted.

  • SPS also lists Cycle to Work, discounted gym membership and dental cover, and flexible working from day one.
  • We could not find equivalent HMPPS weeks and rates on primary pages, so we do not compare family leave.
  • For the England and Wales position see annual leave, maternity pay and the maternity pay calculator; the calculator models the rules it states, so check its notes before applying them to SPS terms.
Benefits as published (SPS vs HMPPS, England and Wales)
ItemSPS (Scotland)HMPPS (England and Wales)
Annual leaveRising to 42 days after 5 years' service (public holiday treatment not stated)25 days rising to 30 with long service (threshold and public holidays not confirmed)
Maternity/adoption27 weeks full basic pay then 12 weeks statutoryNot verified from primary pages
Paternity2 weeks paidNot verified from primary pages
PensionAlpha or Partnership Pension (Legal & General)Civil Service Alpha

SPS: rewards, benefits and recognition page, opened 3 October 2026. HMPPS: Prison and Probation Jobs benefits page. 'Not verified' means we could not confirm it on a primary page.

Free · printable PDF

Free 2026/27 pay card (PDF)

  • Every Band 2 to 5 rate: each pay point, 37, 39 and 41 hours, national, outer and inner London, with and without the unsocial hours allowance
  • Bands 7 to 12 ranges, Payment Plus at £23 an hour, Band 2 overtime rates and the alpha pension contribution bands
  • A short guide to reading your payslip, on two A4 pages you can save as a PDF
The pay card opens on screen straight away; we do not email the PDF. We'll email you when the 2027/28 pay award is announced, and you can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy policy.

Pension in Scotland

In shortSPS offers the Civil Service Alpha scheme; any difference is in contribution bands, not benefits.

The SPS rewards page offers the Civil Service Alpha career-average scheme and an alternative Partnership Pension managed by Legal & General. Alpha is a defined-benefit scheme with a normal pension age linked to the State Pension age.

Taking the 2026/27 CSPS bands, a Scottish officer on £37,682 would be in the 5.45% band (£2,054 a year) while an England and Wales officer on £34,928 is in the 4.6% band (£1,607). If the SPS page's thresholds applied, both would be in the second band.

Either way this is a contribution detail inside the same scheme, not a difference in benefits.

Two quoted sets of Alpha contribution bands

SPS rewards page (2024-27 rates)

  • Earning up to £34,199: employees contribute 4.6%
  • SPS contributes 28.97%

CSPS own 2026/27 table

  • 4.6% up to £36,199, then 5.45% to £56,000
  • 7.35% to £150,000 and 8.05% above
  • The £34,199 and £36,199 thresholds differ, so check which table applies to you

Tax, take-home pay and cost of living

In shortScotland sets its own income tax bands, so a higher gross salary does not mean one-for-one higher take-home pay.

Scotland sets its own income tax bands and rates for non-savings, non-dividend income. A Scottish taxpayer and an English taxpayer on the same salary can therefore take home different amounts, and the difference grows with income. National Insurance rules are UK-wide.

We do not give Scottish tax figures here because we did not verify the 2026/27 Scottish rates and bands from a primary source for this guide; check the Scottish Government or HMRC pages.

  • Our general tools are designed around England-and-Wales employment terms: check each tool's notes about the tax rules it applies before relying on a net figure for a Scottish salary.
  • For a full comparison of offers, put both gross figures into the job offer comparator with your own estimate of tax and costs, and use the prison finder and prison directory to see where establishments are.
Free toolJob offer comparatorCompare an SPS offer with an England and Wales offer using your own hours, leave and cost assumptions.Compare offers free

Comparing with Scottish police pay and with England and Wales

In shortThe pattern echoes England and Wales: higher entry pay in prisons, a longer ladder in policing.

Our sister site PolicePay reports that from 1 April 2026 a Police Scotland constable starts on £34,001 and reaches £54,597 at the top of an 11-point scale. We have not re-verified that against Police Scotland's own publication, so treat it as a cross-check.

On those numbers, an SPS residential officer's starting £37,682 is above a new Police Scotland constable's starting salary, whereas the constable's scale reaches £54,597 against the officer's £44,248 at the three-year point. See prison officer pay vs police officer pay.

  • For someone relocating the key question is the package, not just the salary: Scottish pay is on the SPS scale, leave rises to 42 days, and income tax differs.
  • If you are an England and Wales officer considering SPS (or the reverse), find out how your service and pay point transfer, if at all; we have not found a published transfer scheme, so do not assume continuity of service.
  • Bank holidays also differ between Scotland and England and Wales (GOV.UK lists them separately), which affects rostering and leave planning.

Worked examples, strikes and a checklist

In shortGross pay favours a Scottish Residential Officer, but ask for the hours and what is included in the pay.

Example 1: new joiner. Fiona joins SPS as a Residential Officer in 2026 on £37,682. If she progresses on the stated three-year path she reaches £44,248, a rise of £6,566. A new England and Wales officer on 37 hours starts on £34,928 and reaches £36,778 by year three.

Gross pay favours Fiona, but ask for the hours and what is included in her pay.

Example 2: pension contribution. On £37,682 Fiona's Alpha contribution is about £2,054 using the 2026/27 CSPS bands. At £44,248 it is still 5.45%, or £2,412. These are estimates before tax relief and depend on pensionable pay, which we have not verified for SPS.

  1. Get the SPS salary breakdown: base pay, any unsocial hours element and the weekly hours.
  2. Ask what the three-year progression depends on and what 'subject to pay progression' means.
  3. Confirm the leave entitlement in hours and how public holidays are treated.
  4. Check the pension: Alpha or Partnership Pension, and the contribution band that applies to you.
  5. Calculate net pay using Scottish income tax rates, not English ones.
  6. Compare with the England and Wales offer on the same hours basis.

Frequently asked questions

How much do Scottish prison officers earn?

It depends on the entry route, because SPS recruits prison officers two ways. From 1 April 2026 a Residential Officer starts on £37,682, progressing to £44,248 within three years, and an Operations Officer starts on £30,789, progressing to £34,878, both subject to pay progression.

SPS adverts list a 35-hour week for both; what is included in each figure is not stated, so ask recruitment for the breakdown.

Do Scottish prison officers earn more than English ones?

For a Residential Officer, yes on headline figures: £37,682 to £44,248 against £34,928 to £36,778 for an England and Wales Band 3 on 37 hours (or up to £41,417 on 41 hours), all including 20% UWH in England and Wales. An Operations Officer starts lower, at £30,789 to £34,878.

Hours, allowances, tax and leave differ too, so compare the full package and take-home pay.

Who sets Scottish prison officer pay?

Pay is negotiated for the Scottish Prison Service in Scotland, outside the England and Wales Prison Service Pay Review Body. The SPICe research service reports a two-year deal of 4.25% (2025-26) and 3.75% (2026-27), each with an inflation guarantee. We have not read the primary pay circular, so check SPS for the latest.

How many days' annual leave do SPS officers get?

SPS says annual leave rises to 42 days per year after five years' service. The page we read does not state the starting entitlement or whether public holidays are included, so confirm the leave in hours and how public holidays count with SPS recruitment before comparing it with other employers.

What pension do Scottish prison officers get?

SPS offers the Civil Service Alpha career-average pension, or an alternative Partnership Pension run by Legal & General. The page quotes a 4.6% employee contribution up to £34,199 and a 28.97% employer rate for 2024-27, but the Civil Service Pension Scheme's own 2026/27 table uses different thresholds, so check which applies to you.

Can Scottish prison officers strike?

The POA states that the Scottish Government has restored the right to strike for POA members in Scotland (POA circular 025/2026). We have not independently checked that against Scottish law. In England and Wales, prison officers cannot lawfully take industrial action under section 127 of the Criminal Justice and Public Order Act 1994.

How much does an SPS Operations Officer earn?

The Scottish Prison Service role page states £30,789 for an Operations Officer joining from 1 April 2026, progressing to £34,878 within three years, subject to pay progression.

Operations is the security-support route (front of house, visits, control room, patrol, reception) and, at the three-year point, is paid below the Residential Officer starting salary; both are entry routes, and the SPS adverts list a 35-hour week for each.

Our guide to becoming a prison officer in Scotland compares the two routes and the application stages.

Sources