The short answer: what “prison security officer” can mean
In shortThere is no single grade: the phrase covers four different roles with different pay, entry and duties, and HMPPS publishes no national job description, headcount or pay scale for a “security officer”.
People searching for “prison security officer” usually mean one of four things (listed below). The answer matters because pay, entry and duties differ completely between them. The table sets them side by side.
For wider grade context see prison officer ranks and grades. We have deliberately kept this guide to what can be verified.
- A prison officer who specialises in security intelligence.
- An operational support grade working security and searching at the gate.
- A member of a prison’s security department, the team that runs intelligence, searching and the Local Security Strategy.
- A private-sector or legacy “security officer” grade, such as the closed grade G4S Security Officer in the PSPRB’s pay tables at £25,876 on a 39-hour week.
| Role | Grade | What the sources say | Where to read more |
|---|---|---|---|
| Security intelligence specialist | Band 4 prison officer specialist | Assesses intelligence information to help prevent incidents in the prison (HMPPS) | This guide; Band 4 pay guide |
| Gate and search security | Band 2 operational support grade | Security and searches at the gate, deliveries, visitors, CCTV and phone monitoring (HMPPS) | OSG role guide |
| Security department staff | Varies by post | Run the Local Security Strategy and intelligence locally; structure set by each prison | Local advert |
| Closed-grade G4S Security Officer | Legacy closed grade | £25,876 on a 39-hour week from 1 April 2026 (PSPRB) | Pay bands guide |
Sources: HMPPS Prison and Probation Jobs; PSPRB Twenty-Fifth Report 2026, Appendix F. Private-sector prison security roles are employed by the operator and are outside this table.
The Band 4 security intelligence specialism
In shortSecurity intelligence is a Band 4 prison officer specialism paid the Band 4 spot rate; the training content, number of posts and selection criteria are not published.
- Band 4 base, 37 hours£34,440National, from 1 April 2026
- Incl. 20% unsocial hours£41,328Band 4 spot rate
HMPPS’s career progression page lists security intelligence among the specialisms for a Band 4 prison officer specialist, and describes officers in this area as assessing intelligence information to help prevent incidents in the prison. See our Band 4 pay guide and the supervising officer role for the grade’s context.
- The Band 4 page lists “working in security intelligence” alongside dog handler, offender manager, physical education officer and programmes officer.
- You can move between these roles once you have completed the relevant training.
- To apply for Band 4, HMPPS says you must complete your probationary period at Band 3 and specialist training.
- The careers pages do not publish the content of the security intelligence training, the number of posts, or the selection criteria.
How security is organised inside a prison
In shortSecurity is a prison-wide system, not one person’s job: each prison must set out how it operates in a Local Security Strategy, with a security department at its centre.
The HMPPS Management of the Local Security Strategy policy framework (issued 31 July 2024, implementation date 31 March 2025) says prisons are required to set out how security and the National Security Framework operate in their prison in a Local Security Strategy (LSS).
The LSS must be bespoke to the prison, clear for all staff, and built on a whole-prison, evidence-based risk assessment, reviewed at least annually and whenever risks change significantly. The research it cites says the assessment should include physical security, procedural security, dynamic security, intelligence, strategic integration and security capability.
- The strategy must set out how procedures are implemented across five risk areas (table below).
- Governors must ensure a nominated person is responsible for updating the strategy.
- Functional heads take responsibility for compliance in their areas and give assurance to the Governor and the Security Department.
- All amendments are authorised by the Governor.
| Risk area | What it covers (framework headings) |
|---|---|
| Conveyance | Items entering the prison without authority |
| Escape and abscond | Preventing escapes and absconds |
| Illicit communications | Unauthorised communications such as phones |
| Illicit economy | Trading, debt and related risks |
| Violence and disorder | Violence and disorder in the prison |
Source: HMPPS Management of the Local Security Strategy policy framework, paragraph 4.1 (31 July 2024). The short descriptions are our plain-English summaries of the headings.
National oversight: who sets and audits security
In shortNational policy sits above each prison’s strategy, and assurance is kept separate from management.
These roles are senior and non-uniformed, and they are separate from the specialisms an officer chooses at Band 4. Our HMPPS structure guide shows how regions, Prison Group Directors and governors fit together.
- Approval
- Amendments to a prison’s LSS relating to Category A prisoners must be submitted to the Executive Director of Security for final approval, as must amendments relating to Restricted Status prisoners outside the high security estate. The framework was signed off by the Deputy Director of the Operational Security Group in the Directorate of Security, which shows where national security policy sits.
- Assurance, public sector
- Prison Group Directors monitor compliance using the tools in the framework, and quality assurance is provided by HMPPS Performance, Assurance and Risk Group through the security audit.
- Assurance, contracted prisons
- Quality assurance is by the same security audit; compliance monitoring is through standard contract management.
Why security work is a priority: the threat picture
In shortPhones, drugs and drones are rising: 12,166 phone-find incidents and 26,348 drug finds in the 12 months to March 2025.
- Phone-find incidents12,16612 months to March 2025; up 14%
- Drug finds26,348Up 25%
- Drone incidents1,712Around prisons; up 43%
The PSPRB’s 2026 report describes growing security challenges. The report says HMPPS estimates around 9% of the prison population have links to serious and organised crime.
- HMPPS told the PSPRB it was investing about £40 million in physical security in 34 prisons.
- It had introduced mandatory protective body armour in the riskiest areas of the long-term high-security estate.
- It was trialling tasers.
- HMPPS’s Annual Digest for 2025-26, published on 30 July 2026, reported 26,630 drug finds, 13,284 weapon finds, 11,916 mobile phone finds and 14 escapes (12 the previous year). The figures are not like-for-like with the PSPRB’s earlier year, so treat them as separate snapshots.
| Measure | 12 months to March 2025 (PSPRB) | 2025-26 (HMPPS Annual Digest) |
|---|---|---|
| Drug finds | 26,348 incidents | 26,630 |
| Mobile phone finds | 12,166 incidents | 11,916 |
| Drone incidents around prisons | 1,712 | Not stated in our sources |
| Weapon finds | Not stated in our sources | 13,284 |
Sources: PSPRB Twenty-Fifth Report 2026, paragraph 2.14; HMPPS Annual Digest April 2025 to March 2026 (30 July 2026). Definitions differ, so the columns are not directly comparable.
Searching, gate security and dogs: the front line of security
In shortDay-to-day security is practical: searching, gate work, CCTV and phone monitoring, dog teams and acting on intelligence.
Day-to-day security is mostly practical: gate searches, searching people, vehicles, cells and areas, monitoring CCTV and phones, and acting on intelligence. HMPPS’s Searching Policy Framework (first published 3 October 2022, updated 31 March 2026) sets the mandatory searching requirements and applies to public sector prisons, contracted prisons and young offender institutions in England and Wales.
Its detail sits in the PDF, so read it or ask your security department for the version that applies.
- Operational support grades
- HMPPS describes OSGs as providing security and searches at the gate, managing deliveries, supervising visitors and monitoring phone calls and CCTV. See our operational support grade role guide.
- Dog teams
- Passive search dogs search people, active search dogs search operational areas, staff areas and vehicles, and general purpose dogs deter and support staff. See our prison dog handler guide.
- ORRU
- The Operational Response and Resilience Unit, which includes the National Tactical Response Group and National Dog and Technical Support Group, deploys to the most serious incidents, and members receive an £8,000 a year on-call allowance for being on call 26 weeks a year. That is a different role from a prison’s own security department.
The law around conveyance and staff conduct
In shortUnauthorised conveyance is a criminal offence under the Prison Act 1952, and staff corruption is treated as a security risk as well as a conduct issue.
Security matters in law as well as policy. The conduct research behind this site records the offences below. Authorisation can be granted by the Secretary of State or the Governor and must be recorded.
- Prison Act 1952 section 40B: unauthorised conveyance of List A items is an offence carrying up to 10 years.
- Section 40C covers List B items (up to 2 years) and List C items (fine only).
- Section 40D covers photographs and recordings, transmissions and certain electronic devices including mobile phones (up to 2 years on indictment).
Corruption and counter corruption
For staff, corruption is a security risk as well as a conduct issue. HMPPS’s counter corruption arrangements include regional teams and Local Counter Corruption Managers, who are Deputy Governor grade in most prisons and security-cleared to SC level, according to the policy summary in our research.
Our guides to prison officer contraband and mobile phones and corruption and bribery explain what officers must never do. This is general information, not legal advice. If you are under investigation, take advice from your union representative or a solicitor.
Pay, career and how to move into security work
In shortA security intelligence officer is paid the Band 4 spot rate and OSGs the Band 2 rate; no security-specific allowance appears in the sources.
- Band 4 incl. UWH£41,328Base £34,440; National, 37 hours
- Band 2 OSG base£25,409National, 37 hours
- Band 2 incl. 25% temporary payment£31,761
For a prison officer who moves into security intelligence, pay is the Band 4 spot rate. We found no security-specific allowance in the PSPRB’s Appendix G, and the pay dossier behind this site records that no pay data was found for security roles beyond the grade. Compare your numbers in the salary calculator.
- Build your Band 3 experience and complete probation.
- Ask your security department what training and vetting they expect before applying for a Band 4 vacancy.
- Use the promotion calculator to see what Band 4 is worth.
- Check live adverts for HMPPS non-uniformed intelligence posts: look at grade, vetting and duties rather than relying on a summary.
What is not published, and common mistakes
In shortHMPPS publishes no national security officer job description, security-department headcount, security allowance or intelligence training content.
Search results and third-party sites sometimes quote salaries and duties for a “prison security officer”; unless they cite an HMPPS advert, treat them as unverified. When in doubt, read the live advert and ask HR.
If you are comparing roles, read the guides on the operational support grade, supervising officer and prison dog handler posts, which are the closest published equivalents.
Before you apply
- Check the employer: HMPPS or a private operator.
- Check the band and whether the post is uniformed.
- Ask what vetting applies before you accept an intelligence role.
- Do not rely on third-party salary sites for security roles.
Common mistakes
Mistakes to avoid
- Assuming there is a dedicated rank.
- Confusing the national Directorate of Security with a prison’s own security department.
- Assuming OSG gate work is the same as an officer’s role.
- Assuming a private operator’s security grade is on HMPPS pay.
Do instead
- Read the live advert for the grade and duties.
- Ask HR which employer and band the post sits in.
- Treat uncited salary figures as unverified.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a prison security officer rank?
Not in HMPPS’s published structure. The phrase can mean a Band 4 prison officer working in security intelligence, a Band 2 operational support grade on gate security, a member of a prison’s security department, or a private-sector security role. Check the band and employer on the advert.
What does a prison security intelligence officer do?
HMPPS says officers in this specialism assess intelligence information to help prevent incidents in the prison. The training content, number of posts and selection criteria are not published on the careers pages, so ask your establishment.
How do I become a prison security officer?
Complete probation as a Band 3 prison officer, complete specialist training and apply for a Band 4 prison officer specialist vacancy in security intelligence. For gate security, apply for an operational support grade post. HMPPS says no qualifications are needed for the OSG role.
How much does a prison security officer earn?
An officer in security intelligence is on the Band 4 spot rate: £34,440 base or £41,328 including 20% unsocial hours (National, 37 hours, from 1 April 2026). An OSG on gate security is on the Band 2 rate of £25,409 base or £31,761 with the 25% temporary payment. We found no security-specific allowance.
What is a Local Security Strategy?
A document every prison must maintain, setting out how security and the National Security Framework operate locally across five risk areas: conveyance, escape and abscond, illicit communications, illicit economy, and violence and disorder. It must be based on an annual evidence-based risk assessment and authorised by the Governor.
Who audits prison security?
In public sector prisons Prison Group Directors monitor compliance, and HMPPS Performance, Assurance and Risk Group provides quality assurance through the security audit. Contracted prisons are monitored through contract management.
Are private prison security staff paid the same as HMPPS staff?
No. Private-sector staff are employed by the operator and are outside the Fair and Sustainable pay structure. The PSPRB’s tables include a legacy closed-grade G4S Security Officer rate of £25,876 on a 39-hour week, but that is a closed grade, not a current private-sector scale.
Sources
- prisonandprobationjobs.gov.ukHMPPS Prison and Probation Jobs: Band 4 prison officer roles
- prisonandprobationjobs.gov.ukHMPPS Prison and Probation Jobs: prison officer career progression
- gov.ukHMPPS: Management of the Local Security Strategy policy framework (31 July 2024)
- gov.ukHMPPS: Searching Policy Framework
- assets.publishing.service.gov.ukPSPRB Twenty-Fifth Report on England and Wales 2026
- gov.ukHMPPS Annual Digest April 2025 to March 2026