What a prison dog handler is and does

In shortA dog handler is a Band 4 specialist who searches or patrols with trained dogs to keep illegal or dangerous items out of the prison.

HMPPS’s career progression page lists dog handler among the roles a Band 4 prison officer specialist can take. It describes the work as carrying out searches or patrols with specially trained dogs and helping ensure nothing illegal or dangerous is brought into the prison.

The Prison Dogs Policy Framework adds the wider purpose: enhanced capabilities for searching, patrolling and maintaining security, and a less lethal option during serious incidents. It states that dogs have been deployed by HMPPS for over 50 years.

  • Detecting and deterring escapes.
  • Threats to security, safety, order and control.
  • Threats to public protection and criminal activity.
  • All with lawful, fair and proportionate security measures.
  • The framework applies across England and Wales and its mandatory actions bind governors and Prison Group Directors as well as handlers.

The four kinds of dog team

In shortThe framework restricts dogs in prisons to four types, and a dog can only work in the discipline for which it holds a current licence.

Pets as Therapy and police dogs need the governor’s authority. A search dog cannot be used as a general purpose dog. Which team you join determines your course, fitness standard and daily work.

General purpose dog teams
Previously known as patrol dog teams. Used flexibly; the primary role is deterrence, and governors may deploy them in support of staff operations, but they must always be used alongside appropriate staff and never as a substitute.
Advanced Tornado dog teams
A national resource for serious incidents.
Active search dog teams
May only search operational areas, staff areas and vehicles, and may work off the lead, but must not search a person.
Passive search dog teams
May only search for items on the person, working on a collar and lead or harness under direct handler control.
Prison dog team types under the HMPPS Prison Dogs Policy Framework
Team typeWhat it doesNotes
General purpose (GP)Deterrence and support to staff, including incidentsTrained to bite and protect the handler; 8-foot rule applies
Advanced TornadoSupport in serious incidentsCoordinated nationally; Silver Commander needs Gold Commander permission
Active searchSearches operational areas, staff areas, vehiclesMay work off the lead; must not search people
Passive searchSearches items on the personCollar and lead or harness; direct handler control
Explosives / firearms detectionArms and explosives searchingRoutine use in Category A establishments; NCTAS standard

Source: HMPPS Prison Dogs Policy Framework (re-issued 1 July 2025). Check the current framework for any later change.

How you get there: selection and eligibility

In shortYou apply at Band 4 after completing Band 3 probation and specialist training, through a published pre-selection process; pass rates and vacancy numbers are not published.

The supplementary guidance notes that the skills needed for search dog handler roles include significant prisoner and visitor interaction and are very different from those of a general purpose dog handler or a member of the national dog team. Handlers must be HMPPS employees working to an agreed job description.

HMPPS does not publish selection pass rates, vacancy numbers or a typical waiting time, so we do not provide them. Ask your establishment’s dog section or learning and development team how vacancies are advertised, and read our Band 4 pay guide and prison officer promotion guide for the Band 4 context.

  1. Complete probation at Band 3 and specialist training; dog handling is one of the specialist roles listed.
  2. Go through the published pre-selection process: all HMPPS dog handlers must be recruited this way.
  3. Understand that you are likely to be required to handle two HMPPS dogs (Prison Officer Specialist dog handler position).
  4. Hold a current licence from the National Dog Inspectorate before being employed on dog handling duties.

Training: course lengths and annual licensing

In shortInitial courses run from 20 days to 10 weeks, teams are accredited at the end of training and every year, and continuation training is mandatory in between.

The supplementary guidance sets the initial course lengths for newly appointed handlers. Experienced handlers retraining with a new dog take shorter courses (table below).

  • Only handlers who have completed a 40-day initial general purpose course with an accredited HMPPS trainer can handle general purpose dogs unsupervised.
  • All teams must be accredited at the end of initial training and annually.
  • An independent assessor from the national dog team issues a 12-month licence, or a three-month licence with a development plan if the standard is met but improvements are needed.
  • Bolt-on courses exist: a one-day pre-selection plus two-day course for advanced Tornado response, and 5 to 10 days for illicit brewed alcohol or mobile phone detection.
  • Continuation training is mandatory between annual assessments: 10 days for general purpose, 5 days for active and passive drug detection, 3 days for mobile phone or illicit brewed alcohol detection and 3 days for firearms detection (all minimums).
  • Explosives detection is held to the national scheme standard; teams must show 100 hours of annual training for national accreditation.
Initial course length for newly appointed handlers
DisciplineNewly appointed handlerExperienced handler with a new dogMinimum continuation training a year
General purpose dog40 daysAt least 20 days10 days
Passive drug detection30 daysAt least 15 days5 days
Active drug detection20 daysAt least 10 days5 days
Explosives detection8 to 10 weeks (40 to 50 days)4 to 6 weeks (20 to 30 days)National scheme standard

Source: HMPPS Prison Dogs supplementary guidance and Policy Framework (re-issued 1 July 2025). Continuation figures from the framework, paragraph 9.6.

Fitness standards and risk rules handlers work to

In shortGeneral purpose handlers must pass a fitness assessment before the course and every year, and strict safety rules apply to the dogs.

  • General purpose: grip35 kgf
  • General purpose: bleep testLevel 5.8
  • General purpose: shield / agility1 minute / 32 seconds
  • National dog team and Tornado: bleepLevel 7.2Grip 35 kgf, shield 1 minute 30 seconds, speed and agility 30 seconds

General purpose dog handlers in post after 2 April 2001 must pass a dog handler’s fitness assessment before being accepted onto the training course and must complete it annually to maintain operational status. Handlers on the national dog team and advanced Tornado teams must pass the control and restraint advanced test.

This contrasts with the usual officer rule: the PSPRB heard that once an officer is appointed, the fitness test is no longer repeated except for certain specialist roles. Dog handling is one of those. For preparation, see our fitness test guide and the fitness test calculator.

  • General purpose dogs are trained to bite and protect the handler, so the framework’s 8-foot rule says people must not approach within 8 feet (2.5 metres) of one.
  • General purpose and Tornado dogs must be on a lead and under control whenever they are not in a secure area with controlled access.
  • Electric collars and pinch collars must not be used on HMPPS dogs under any circumstances.
Free toolFitness test calculatorCheck your bleep test, grip and other scores against the standard you are aiming for.Open the free calculator

Pay: Band 4 plus the care and maintenance allowance

In shortA handler is paid the Band 4 spot rate (£41,328 National, 37 hours incl. UWH) plus £2,945 a year for one dog or £3,682 for multiple dogs.

  • Band 4 base, 37 hours£34,440From 1 April 2026
  • Band 4 incl. 20% UWH£41,32839 hours with 2 x ACHP: £43,562
  • Allowance, one dog£2,945Up 3.5% from 1 April 2026
  • Allowance, multiple dogs£3,68225% above the single rate

The framework describes the allowance as an annual allowance added to the salary of an accredited handler in post, paid to compensate for the time and responsibility of looking after the dog or dogs in off-duty hours.

As an illustration (our arithmetic, gross, National zone, 37 hours): £41,328 plus £2,945 is £44,273 with one dog and £45,010 with multiple dogs. On the 39-hour pattern it is £46,507 or £47,244.

  • Whether the allowance is pensionable, and how it is treated for tax and National Insurance beyond normal rules, is not stated in the sources we read, so check your contract and our pension guides.
  • The PSPRB’s rolling review schedules the Care and Maintenance of Dogs allowance for its 2027 Report, so the figure may change again.
  • Older closed grades had a £1,200 pensionable specialist allowance for patrol and search dog handlers, which applies to closed grades only.
  • National dog team members also receive the ORRU on-call allowance of £8,000 a year for being on call for 26 weeks a year.
Illustrative handler pay, National zone, gross, from 1 April 2026
ContractBand 4 pay inc 20% UWHWith one dog (+£2,945)With multiple dogs (+£3,682)
37 hours£41,328£44,273£45,010
39 hours inc 2 x ACHP£43,562£46,507£47,244

Sources: PSPRB Twenty-Fifth Report 2026, Appendix E and Appendix G. Totals are our arithmetic; pensionability of the allowance is not stated in the sources read. Check your own contract.

The dogs at home: kennelling, welfare and daily care

In shortThe care is substantial: dogs are kennelled in approved kennels on and off duty, with working limits and legal welfare duties.

The framework says handlers are responsible for feeding and watering, exercising, grooming, caring and maintaining, kennel cleaning and the control and security of their dogs.

All HMPPS dogs must be kennelled, on or off duty, in approved kennels, and a planned assurance assessment must be completed for home, private and establishment kennels before a dog is housed there. Dogs are fed under the national contract unless derogation is given in writing.

  • Daily feeding, watering, exercise, grooming and kennel cleaning
  • Approved kennels for the dog at home and at work
  • Dynamic risk assessments before exercising search dogs off the lead
  • Records and incident reporting for any bite or attack

Working limits for dogs

In normal circumstances no dog should work for more than 12 hours (16 in operational emergencies), dogs should have at least one day off a week, and they should not work more than two and a half hours without being stood down for at least 30 minutes.

Dogs may work day or night, but areas must be risk assessed and lit so the handler can observe the dog’s reactions.

Welfare law and records

Welfare law applies. The framework lists the Animal Welfare Act 2006, the Animal Welfare (Service Animals) Act 2019, the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 and others, and requires a Dog Service Record for each operational dog, retained for seven years after the record closes.

Work-life balance, flexible working and maternity

In shortFlexible-working requests are considered case by case, training minimums cannot be reduced pro rata, and the allowance continues during maternity leave.

Requests to reduce hours or work flexibly are considered case by case with HR. The framework warns that dog teams must complete the minimum training each year for each operational element, which cannot be reduced pro rata, and that a reduction in a handler’s availability also reduces the dog’s operational exposure.

If circumstances change so that a handler can no longer meet the basic requirements of the role, other options are considered.

  • The July 2025 update says a service dog should not be removed from a handler merely because the handler is pregnant or exercising the right to take maternity leave.
  • The Care and Maintenance Allowance continues to be paid during maternity leave even if the dog is removed, and is incorporated into maternity pay.
  • Handlers who are pregnant must inform their line manager and a specific risk assessment is required.
  • If a dog is removed from a handler’s care, the allowance stops or is adjusted to the number of dogs remaining, and any allocated vehicle may be withdrawn, with exceptions for maternity.

Is it for you? Questions to ask and mistakes to avoid

In shortDog handling is a commitment that follows you home: daily care, approved kennelling and your own availability all affect the team’s licence.

The job offer comparator helps compare a handler post with a standard Band 4 role including the allowance. For the wider ladder, see prison officer ranks and grades and the guides on the supervising officer role and prison security officer.

Ask the dog section

  • How many dogs would I be expected to handle?
  • What on-call or ORRU duties apply?
  • Who covers when I am off?
  • How are vacancies advertised?
  1. Complete probation at Band 3 and relevant specialist training.
  2. Check you can meet the fitness standard and provide approved kennelling and a licensed driver’s vehicle access.
  3. Ask your dog section how vacancies are advertised and which team type they use.
  4. Apply, complete the pre-selection process and then the initial course.
  5. Be licensed by the National Dog Inspectorate and re-assessed every year.

Common mistakes

Mistakes

  • Assuming that every dog handler is a drug-detection specialist (general purpose handlers do different work).
  • Assuming the allowance is pensionable without checking.
  • Underestimating the annual fitness requirement.

Do instead

  • Find out which team type the establishment uses.
  • Check your contract for pensionability.
  • Prepare for the annual fitness test.

Frequently asked questions

How do you become a prison dog handler?

HMPPS lists dog handler as a Band 4 prison officer specialist role. You complete probation at Band 3 and specialist training, then apply and go through the published pre-selection process and an initial course with your dog. You must be licensed by the National Dog Inspectorate.

How long is prison dog handler training?

For newly appointed handlers: 40 days for general purpose dogs, 30 days passive drug detection, 20 days active drug detection and 8 to 10 weeks for explosives detection, per the HMPPS supplementary guidance. Experienced handlers retraining with a new dog take shorter courses. Teams are re-licensed annually.

How much do prison dog handlers earn?

They are paid the Band 4 spot rate (£41,328 National, 37 hours, including 20% unsocial hours, from 1 April 2026) plus the Care and Maintenance of Dogs allowance of £2,945 a year for one dog or £3,682 for multiple dogs. Check your contract for pensionability.

Do prison dog handlers take the dog home?

Yes, handlers are responsible for their dogs off duty. The framework requires all HMPPS dogs to be kennelled in approved kennels and requires an assurance assessment of home kennelling before a dog is housed there.

How many prison dogs are there?

HMPPS says it deploys 492 licensed search dogs across prisons in England and Wales (Lords written answer HL16629, 27 April 2026). We found no published total including general purpose dogs, so we do not state one.

Is there a fitness test for dog handlers?

Yes. General purpose handlers in post after 2 April 2001 must pass a fitness assessment before the course and annually, including a 35 kgf grip test, bleep test level 5.8, a one-minute shield test and a 32-second agility test. Tornado and national dog team handlers face a higher standard.

Is the dog handler allowance pensionable?

The sources we read do not state it for the current Fair and Sustainable allowance. The older closed grade specialist allowance of £1,200 is described as pensionable, but that applies only to closed grades. Check your contract or HR.

Sources